You’re not doing Paris right, are you?

Frankie Faunet
3 min readApr 27, 2023
Total amateurs! (Photo by Filip Mishevski on Unsplash)

I am not a Parisian. To anyone that knows me or my writing, that will not be much of a revelation, especially given how much I gripe about the ways in which Paris sucks energy and imagination from everything else French that I know. And living in the “provinces,” it’s hard not to notice the effect of Paris-centric thinking and policy.

That said, I do enjoy spending time in the capital from time to time, but as you can guess, I don’t do it how most people do. No, I don’t visit the Eiffel Tower or picnic on the Champs de Mars. I don’t stroll through Montmartre and sit for a caricature drawing. Instead I like to do things off the beaten path, with a bit of ironic skepticism for good measure.

Most of you probably wouldn’t enjoy my idea of nice weekend in Paris, but I figured maybe one or two of you might have a better sense of adventure than most tourists, so I decided to share some off-kilter tips for the so-called City of Lights.

1. Chase rats in a public park

Forget admiring the gardens; instead, devote your time to an alternative pastime in a Parisian park: chasing rats. Begin by nonchalantly locating the nearest trash can, where you may catch a glimpse of these filthy, furry creatures. With a wild grin, embark on the pursuit, darting through the park past statues and fountains…

--

--

Frankie Faunet

French-American exploring the intersection of humanity & tech: cultural critic, AI enthusiast, & author of forthcoming "99 Ways to Survive the AI Apocalypse".