Surviving the A.I. Apocalypse

Frankie Faunet
6 min readApr 30, 2023
Prepare to Survive!

How an apocalyptic survivalist is born

As a Franco-American writer, I grew up torn between France and the United States. Raised in Paris, I experienced firsthand the complexities of living between two cultures and languages, a reality that has deeply shaped my worldview and sensibilities. Now in my late twenties, I have come to appreciate the nuances of my dual identity and how it has influenced my perspective on life.

When the COVID-19 pandemic swept across the globe, I was struck by the vulnerability of our societies and the profound impact the pandemic had on every aspect of our lives. This experience truly heightened my concerns about the future, particularly on the role of Artificial Intelligence and its potential implications for the future of humanity.

In response to these concerns, I turned to writing and research as a way to explore and make sense of the rapidly changing world around me. This journey led me to a develop a passion for understanding the intersections of humanity and technology with a sense of responsibility for charting a better future. In short, in just a few years, went deep into the rabbit hole on prepping for a future in which AI threatens everything we hold dear.

With a love for strong coffee, dusty bookshops, and slightly wine-drenched walks along the Seine, I…

--

--

Frankie Faunet

French-American exploring the intersection of humanity & tech: cultural critic, AI enthusiast, & author of forthcoming "99 Ways to Survive the AI Apocalypse".